American Apparell advertisement

I like this advertisement. It's a shame that people immediately sexualize an image when it contains nudity. It goes without saying that you can discuss whether of not this particular image has a sexual undertone. And such things can, obviously, be very subjective - depending on the viewers own sexual preferences. I don't think of this as an sexual image. I think it's realistic in the way that the context gives me an image of an model behind the catwalk, getting ready for a show. Although it can also be considered objectifying in the sense that the model is being compared to the naked mannequins - because of their common denominator: their nudity and lifelike poses. But I think the model stands out because of the many frames and her many different poses.
You may be asking yourself; What is it that makes a model a human and what makes a mannequin a model of a human?I
I found this article (on a swedish site) about American Apparell advertisement and how they are being considered controversial [1]. I'll bring up two of these examples that where considered offensive:
(advertisement from American Apparell for full fram check out link #2)
[2] I like this advertisement. It's a shame that people immediately sexualize an image when it contains nudity. It goes without saying that you can discuss whether of not this particular image has a sexual undertone. And such things can, obviously, be very subjective - depending on the viewers own sexual preferences. I don't think of this as an sexual image. I think it's realistic in the way that the context gives me an image of an model behind the catwalk, getting ready for a show. Although it can also be considered objectifying in the sense that the model is being compared to the naked mannequins - because of their common denominator: their nudity and lifelike poses. But I think the model stands out because of the many frames and her many different poses.
You may be asking yourself; What is it that makes a model a human and what makes a mannequin a model of a human?
(advertisement from American Apparell for full fram check out link #3)

I do not know what to think of this picture.
A part of me wants to laugh, because it feels childisch- sort of innocent, playfull and ridiculous.
An other part of me wants to analyze why people find this offensive - besides the nudity part.
(Although, I've been observing this picture closely, and I do believe she is wearing a skin-coloured thong.)
I can hardly see why anyone would consider this sexy - unless they are attracted to trees. Or maybe if they compare the tree to a strippers pole. In which case I think she is overdressed.
But very clever. It got attention and that is what advertisement is all about.
ps. I do not feel offended.

Links:
1.http://www.aftonbladet.se/wendela/article8402099.ab
2.http://bit.ly/eQoF7I
3.http://bit.ly/hyeaCC

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0